Newest
Older
Profile
Guestbook
D-Land

This site and its contents, unless otherwise noted,
� K.E.S., 2004 -->

e-mail to Janet: Jeff/Ayurvedic Medicine
2006-03-22 // 11:25 a.m.

The following is an e-mail I just sent to an old friend from UConn.


Hi Janet -

Well, I haven't touched a computer in a while, but here is an e-mail from you from just yesterday. Cool :o) I wanted to thank you for the e-mail you sent me last month when I was house-sitting -- it's the one where you responded to my venting over current life difficulties. I really appreciated your e-mail and I'm sorry I didn't respond. Truth is, believe it or not, since I've been so down this past year in my life I'm finding it difficult to respond to people's kindness. Isn't that odd? It feels so unlike me. You know, it's funny. You and I didn't talk one-on-one hardly at all at UConn, yet I find myself able to type things to you now in e-mails that are pretty personal. I suppose what I'm saying is I'm thankful for that and I appreciate that you don't mind listening now and then.

There's not much to update you on. The job hunt continues and, while I'm being honest, I'll admit I'm not giving it my all. I am going to a job fair tomorrow though that sounds promising. It's for a customer service position in the insurance industry in Springfield, MA. I decided about a week ago to stop bothering to look for work in CT since Jenna and I have decided we will be returning to MA as soon as possible after our lease ends in October. I figure I might as well establish myself at a job in southern MA so that when we move I've already got a job I can keep. I'll tell you, customer service in the insurance industry sure as hell does not sound like an interesting job to me but hey, it has benefits and is full time which is about as picky as I can get at the moment. I'm also an extremely fast typer so people hiring for office type positions tend to like me.

Outside of this, I am still working for Jeff, the quadriplegic guy who rehired me about two months ago now. He and I are actually becoming pretty good friends; I have a real soft spot for him. This past weekend, he was really really sick - fever of 103, vomiting, chest fluid, etc. His sister-in-law (he shares a house with her and his brother) and I called 911 around 10am when he went into axphyxiatic shock and, as it turns out this was an incredibly wise thing to do. Turns out he nearly died later that day in the hospital. Evidently, he has bacterial pnemonia and they are testing for all sorts of other infections because they cannot yet explain some of his symptoms. I went to Hartford Hospital to visit him on Monday but he was unconscious the entire time I was there. It was so scary on Sunday to see him go into shock like that - the trouble he had with breathing and talking and everything. Both his sister-in-law and I were trying to stifle tears as they got him onto the stretcher. Now that he's in the hospital, they intend to keep him there for a few days and then transfer him to West Roxbury, MA (near Boston) to the spinal cord injury place. He will probably be there for a few weeks.

Well, aside from the obvious emotional attachment I have to Jeff, and the concern that I have for his well-being, I also have to consider the fact that I now am not going to be working for him until he returns from West Roxbury. This means that my small, part-time and only pay check is no longer coming in for the time being. This, of course, increases the urgency of my job search. Ah, but life goes on...

Jenna and I missed our exit on 91S the other day and we accidentally ended up in Weathersfield. I thought of you.

I'm jealous, by they way, that you are going to see The Lion King. That is my favorite Disney movie and I have been dying to see the Broadway version for years. I heard way back in early autumn that it was coming to the Bushnell in April, but I of course have no money to go. You'll have to tell me all about it.

Aside from my job situation and Jeff's being in the hospital, the only other news I really have to report is that I have begun a rather serious, disciplined system for weight loss. It is not a diet because it is not a temporary thing. Rather, it is a lifestyle change that I am supposed to adhere to for the rest of my life. It is called the Sattva Program and is derived from ancient Indian/Hindu Ayurvedic medicine, which is a 3,000-year-old system. The core of the system is to realize that establishing a healthy mind, spirit and immune system is the only way to lose weight and keep it off forever. It combines psychology, spirituality and disease immunity to foster weight loss. It is truly fascinating and just feels so correct. It speaks to the natural, spiritual part of me that has felt stifled ever since I left UConn (where I believe I led a much healthier spiritual/emotional life, but just had not yet incorporated healthy eating into the picture). I've asked Jenna to weigh me once per week for the first four weeks that I'm on the system and not tell me what my weight is or how much I've lost or gained. After four weeks, I will ask her for the four weights so that I can see a month's worth of progress all at once. My point in doing this is a) to not be discouraged by seeing the actual number of my weight and b) I read that it takes 28 days for a lifestyle change to become habit/natural and so I would like to be on the system for at least that long before I take a look at the result, which will hopefully encourage me to continue. I'll let you know how it goes.

Thanks, Janet. It was nice to just type for a while. I find it meditative sometimes to just share whatever comes to mind. I hope you're doing well and finding happiness. Talk to you later.

- Kyle -

p.s. - Don't be put off by how long it takes me to respond. I really don't get to use the internet that often.

...Like I said - Moving on...

I belong to the following diaryrings:







DgDesigns